a la Louboutin

On one of my modeling jobs, the designer I was working with had the soles of my 5 inch heels covered in a lime green duck tape (think Louboutin colored soles) for my walk down the runway.  I was in LOVE with the look.  The black leather stilettos were instantly transformed and seemed brand new.  Now, besides shelling out hundreds, if not a thousand or so, for a pair of colored soled Louboutin’s, I thought, what can I do?

And here is my solution! PAINT THE SOLES MYSELF!!!!! So here for you is my tutorial on getting a new shoe look for you tired old soles 😉

You will need

  • pair of heels
  • acrylic paint in your choice of color
  • sponge paint brush
  • alcohol wipe

and that’s it!

Image

Here are the 2 ridiculously easy steps.

First, take the alcohol wipe and wipe down the soles as best as you can.  Make sure the sole is clean and dry before you try to start painting.

Second, squeeze out a bit of the paint and dip the tip of the sponge brush in it.  I worked with a little at a time. Paint one layer at a time and let dry in between coats.

Image

Image

I’m sure you’re thinking this looks like crap, i’ve ruined a pair of shoes! But stick with me ladies, I promise you’ll swoon over the end results!

Put on at least 2 coats to cover the sole and make the color look even, but add as many coats as you’d like.  I used 4.

Image

Image

Pretty great huh? I’m now thinking of all different colors to use, kelly greeen, tiffany blue, etc… and this would be great for the color block trend or the neon trend! You could even try to do a design if you’re feeling really artsy, or just do stripes or polka dots, those are always easy patterns.  My mind is working overtime with all the endless possibilities and I’m itching to try out different combos! Best of all, since I used a pair of existing heels, this only cost me the paint which was less than $1.00 and I practically still have a whole bottle to use on other projects, or to just add to my kids’ arts and crafts box.

Image

Let me know what you think! Are you gonna try it out? Comments always appreciated! And don’t forget to subscribe to my blog!!!!

10 thoughts on “a la Louboutin

  1. I love it! That is a great idea… does the paint make the shoe more apt to slip? If so they sell those pads that make shoes stay in place while you walk, they wouldnt be visable in a shot like you have and that is the part of the shoe you want everyone to see anyway!

    • Im not sure. I just did them today and I’ve only walked around my house. I wouldn’t imagine they’d be slippery though since I used a matte acrylic paint. I’ll keep you posted!

  2. Pingback: DIY glitter shoes! | Champagne taste on a beer budget

  3. Pingback: !!!! GIVEAWAY !!!! | Champagne taste on a beer budget

  4. Pingback: DIY glitter shoes! – Champagne Taste Beer Budget

  5. Pingback: !!!! GIVEAWAY !!!! – Champagne Taste Beer Budget

Leave a Reply

