Yummy marinade!!

Hubby and I felt like bbq-ing last night so out to the store to grab some pork ribs he went.  Then grandma (his mom) called and wanted to see her grand babies so he took them for an afternoon visit leaving me to marinade the meat…..hhmmmmmm….he does know that I’ve never marinated ribs before, right?

I opened the pantry, spice cabinet and frig to see what we had on hand.  I pulled out the most random things that I think I’ve seen people use before and started pouring  and whisking it all together while dancing around to some Johnny Cash.

The result was a SURPRISINGLY addictive thick liquid that was, quiet literally, finger licking good!

Here’s the recipe of my madness, and my thought process, in case you want to give it a try, which I HIGHLY recommend.  Oh, and the measurements below are just a guesstimate, I was really just dumping things together and crossing my fingers.

  1. 1 cup soy sauce (i’m korean. soy sauce was the first thing that popped into my head)
  2. 3 tbsp. grainy mustard (that tastes good on pork loin, pork ribs should be no different right)
  3. 6 cloves of minced garlic (who doesn’t love garlic)
  4. 2 tbsp. apple cider vinegar (i’ve heard somewhere that it tenderizers meat)
  5. 2 tbsp. red wine vinegar (i had both kinds and didn’t know what type to use)
  6. 1/3 cup sugar (i love a sweet bbq sauce but didn’t have any brown sugar so i figured this would be just as good)
  7. 3 tbsp. bbq sauce (it was in the frig, and i figured you need bbq sauce for a bbq marinade)

I just dumped it all into a bowl and started whisking away until I felt like the sugar had dissolved.  Then I apprehensively, and with no expectations on taste, dipped my finger in and gave it a taste and it was GOOD! Surprise, surprise!

Dumped all that into a ziploc bag and put the ribs in.  They marinated for about 4 hours, I would’ve left them longer if we had more time. I then put the individual slabs onto a pieces of foil, folded the foil into little packages and poured some of the marinating liquid in there with them, then sealed them shut.  I put those on the grill over a low flame for about an hour or so.  Then I got the fire going again, pulled the ribs out of the foil packages and threw them on the fire to get that yummy, smokey, carmelized flavor.

They turned out perfect! So moist and fall off the bone, finger lickin’ good! Maybe I have a secret bbq talent 😉

YUM!!

Let me know if you’re thinking of trying it out!

One thought on “Yummy marinade!!

Leave a Reply

