kids earn a free book from Barnes and Noble

I’ve been a southern belle with Scarlet O’Hara, know who John Galt is, drank the elixir with Juliet, and found out how the invisible man came to be invisible.  In short, I read.  I constantly read! Let me rephrase that, I used to constantly read, now I do it when I find time apart from my 3 children.

The scene from Disney’s Beauty and the Beast where the Beast gives Belle that immense library meticulously stocked from floor to ceiling with, no doubt, all the great, not so great, and what were they thinking literature ever written, is my dream!

Imagine my slight sadness that my 8 year old didn’t inherit my affinity for reading.  Dreams of us snuggled up anticipating what the next page would reveal as he reads to me before bed have been torn away.  Maybe I’ll have better luck with my 2 year old or 3 month old as they grow!

But, that doesn’t mean that I don’t make him read. Rayne has a mandatory 20 minutes or 1 chapter to read during school days and just because it’s the summer, doesn’t mean that he gets to totally slack.  So this kids’ summer reading program from Barnes and Noble is just the kind of stay on top of your work program that I love! And with the opportunity to earn a FREE BOOK, it’s just the kind of motivation that Rayne loves!

The provided free printable reading journal makes it easy for your child to track and see how far they’ve come and how far they still have to go to earn their prize.  There is the restriction of only being able to choose a book that is offered on the list (attached to the free printable reading journal) but it is a pretty good variety for both boys and girls broken into different age/grade reading levels.

I think Rayne is going to work towards earning Beverly Clearly’s Mouse and the motorcycle! Ah, the memories of my dad reading to me about Ramona and Ribsy!

While you’re over there, don’t forget to sign your child up for the free kids club that gives you a $5 reward for every $100 you spend, a free cookie or cupcake from their cafe on your child’s birthday, and a 30% off coupon good on a kids’ book or toy! And don’t forget to check out their free story times and events happening at your local store!

Leave a Reply

