Baked Potato Soup

Here’s another one of my yummy recipe’s born out of necessity.

It was a thunder storm rainy summer day (a rare occasion in San Antonio).  The kind of day that makes you want to grab a blanket and cuddle on the couch while watching classic Audrey Hepburn and eating a bowl of soup.  All I needed was to make some soup.  IThe bag of potato’s in the pantry caught my eye and baked potato soup jumped onto our dinner menu.

Here’s the original recipe that I used as a guide.  I had to change so much of it because of what my pantry and frig held (always try to modify to what  you have on hand, to cut back on trips to the grocery store and unnecessary money spent). So here is my version.

Ingredients

  • 2 tbsp. bacon grease
  • 1 small onion
  • 3 green onions
  • 3 cloves of garlic
  • dash of salt
  • dash of basil
  • dash of pepper
  • dash of smoked paprika
  • 3 tbsp.  all purpose flour
  • 2 large potato’s
  • 1 yellow squash
  • 3 cups chicken broth
  • 1/2 cup sour cream
  • 1 cup shredded cheddar

First, peel and cube your potato’s.  In a soup pot, lightly boil the chicken broth and add your potato’s.  In a separate pan, add 1 tbsp of bacon grease.  chop your onion and mince your garlic and sautee in your bacon grease until soft.  add the other 1 tbsp of bacon grease and your 3 tbsp. of flour.  mix together until you have a thick paste mixture or rue.  cube your yellow squash and when you potato’s are nearly done, add those to the soup.  reduce the heat. whisk in your rue, and 1/2 cup of sour cream. add 1/2 cup of the cheddar, your spices and the chopped green onions. Taste and flavor to your liking.  Top your bowls with the remaining cheddar and enjoy!

I didn’t have any bacon on hand, but by using the bacon grease, you’d never tell from the flavor of the soup and I added the yellow squash just because it was in my frig and I wanted to add an extra veggie boost. I love recipe’s that are so versatile and adaptable, and GOOD! Hubby and I both went back for seconds!

Leave a Reply

