a whole new crib!

Remember the new crib and sheet set that I wanted for my daughter’s nursery? Remember that it was going to cost me $274.78 for a new crib and the sheets that I wanted? That’s really not a bad price, but still, if I can do it for less and and save the money, I’d rather do that.  So, that’s exactly what I did. And here’s my finished product!

i love the lines and curves of this crib

damask sheets

I LOVE the finished product! And, best of all, it cost me less than $40 for everything!

I used my 2 year old son River’s crib that he had outgrown.  It was originally white. I loved the curves of the wood, the drop side, mattress height adjustment, and teething rails on it, so instead of trying to buy the exact same one in black, I just painted it. I bought the fabric on sale at Hobby Lobby and set to making my own fitted crib sheets.  The thought originally intimidated me, but it was incredibly simple to do, and is fitted and finished perfectly to look just like it’s bought from the store! You seriously can’t tell the difference. I’m going to be making a ton of these!

All in all, I’m extremely happy and proud of myself for how it all turned out! I saved over $230! That’s a good sized chunk of change!

What do you think about the end result?

Stay tuned for a tutorial post on DIY crib sheets!

5 thoughts on “a whole new crib!

  1. Pingback: FREE fitted crib sheet pattern and tutorial! | Champagne taste on a beer budget

  2. I’m wanting to re-use my sons crib as well;) what was the finish on ur orig crib did you hv to sand it dn at all? Is there a particular type of paint you used ?

    • The original finish was a very satiny white. I didn’t sand it down, but hubby said I should have. But it looks perfect to me and there were no problems while doing it or now. I used spray paint, I think it was krylon. If I did it again though, I’d just buy a can of paint instead of spraying. Just make sure you get the finish you want (matte, satin, etc…) Let me know if you have any more questions!

  3. Pingback: FREE fitted crib sheet pattern and tutorial! – Champagne Taste Beer Budget

Leave a Reply

