Clay Casa Christmas Ornaments

Remember me telling you about Clay Casa a few weeks ago? The paint your own pottery place in San Antonio? Well the minis and I took a trip down there to make a few Christmas ornaments, and the boys had such a good time!

We walked in on a very busy weekend afternoon but despite the number of customers there, we were immediately greeted by an employee with a smile and a, “welcome to Clay Casa. How can I help you today?”

The boys were then shown their choices of what they could make. My arts and crafts loving boys wanted to make dozens of things, but Rayne settled on a gingerbread man ornament and River chose a tree ornament.

We were then guided to our own table and as I sat with Honor in her stroller (if you know me, you know I have a limo sized double stroller that can be hard to navigate in small places) the associate took Rayne and River to let them choose their own paintbrushes and colors. She returned with an armful of the paints my boys had chosen, mini pallettes to hold the paint and the unnecessary assortment of brushes my two year old decided he “needed.”

20121210-093109.jpg

After walking R&R through the proper painting process she left us to have some fun.

20121210-094415.jpg

We finished just as River decided he didn’t want to be there anymore and 2 year old fit mode was kicking in. We were told that we’d receive a call in about a week to come pick up our fired and glazed finished pieces.

I go the call a few days ago and made the trip down there to pick them up. I couldn’t help but smile as I looked at them and when River saw his tree he picked it up and carried it around with him for the rest of the afternoon. I’d say he’s pleased with his work 😉

Yesterday, I finally got around to adding some string to them so we could hang them on the tree and they’re beautiful!

20121210-095417.jpg

Even though it’s on the opposite side of town from us, I think we’ll make the trip out that way again. There was an angry bird Rayne had his eye on a monster truck River liked.

Great staff, fun activity, good for the kids, family friendly, huge selection of products to choose from. This is one of my San Antonio family recommendations!

*disclosure: my family and I were invited to Clay Casa and my children were given a free craft to do. All opinions and reviews are 100% my own and my experience may differ from yours.

2 thoughts on “Clay Casa Christmas Ornaments

Leave a Reply

