The giving spirit of my children

A few days ago I told you about the Christmas stockings my children and I were putting together for a family in need. We have since met the family and given them their gifts and I want to share with you the experience.

The night of Christmas Eve, BJ’s restaurant hosted a dinner for the whole family and bestowed them with gifts given with generosity by the employees of BJ’s. My family and I drove down to meet them and hand deliver their goodies.

20121228-180058.jpg

They family was so overwhelmed with the generosity and love of everyone who contributed to their Christmas that they were tearing up and at a loss for words.

Can I just brag on my boys for a minute and say how amazingly proud of them I am! My 8 year old son Rayne and 2 year old son River handed out the personalized stockings to each of those kids without any hesitation while telling them Merry Christmas with big smiles and open hearts!

20121228-180344.jpg

I teared up when I saw the wide smiles as the kids got their stockings and as I was given hugs from the parents.

My boys acted so selflessly and seemed to really understand what we were doing and why. They never once asked what was in it for them or complained about giving away toys and gifts they would have loved themselves.

It renews my faith in goodwill, love and selfless charity and renews my faith in myself and how I’m raising my mini’s.

Practice random acts of kindness and pass it on!

Leave a Reply

