30 days to yelling less challenge

I’m owing up to you guys. I’m a yeller. Wether it’s out of stress, frustration, fear, or actual anger, I’m a yeller.

The hubbs and I have been talking about and trying (to no avail) to implement a no yelling rule for our family of 5. Our actions dictate our childrens’ and they were learning that you yell when your emotions have boiled over. Unacceptable.

So while on twitter a few days ago, I saw a status that had been retweeted by a fellow San Antonio blogger friend that said “do you yell at your children” and had a link to a blog post. I clicked on it and it took me here. To a brave mom of 6 opening up and being honest about her yelling and her want to change. That’s how I found out about the orange rhino. A women on her journey not to yell for 365 days and helping others to accomplish it as well.

She does it in 30 day segments with people who sign up. She shares hers tips and tricks to day by day, hold yourself accountable and what you can do to stop raising your voice. There’s a while support group to keep you on track and be on your side. I knew I had to sign up for it!

Today is day one of my 30 days and the hubbs and I are going to do this together and look with love, understanding and compassion on situations that try our patience.

Well, that’s the plan anyways.

Wish us luck!

And I hope this post inspires someone out there, just as the post I read inspired me to action. Interested in the orange rhino project? Be sure and let me know!

4 thoughts on “30 days to yelling less challenge

  1. I know that one of my mom’s biggest parenting regrets is that there were times when life was super stressful and she would yell quite a bit at the five of us. My little guy isn’t old enough yet to trigger situations where I would raise my voice, but I know that it’s something that takes a lot of work to avoid. Good luck!

    • Thank you for the support Jennifer! When they’re little and you only have 1, you can’t imagine ever raising your voice, but with my 3, I’m sad to say, I don’t always hold my temper and my oldest probably bears the brunt of it 😦 even once in a while is hurtful and we’re working towards none!

  2. Thanks for sharing! I have to admit that when I was a parent of one…I was astounded that people ever yelled at their kiddos. Now, I have two…a preschooler and a toddler…and although I’ve never been a yeller, I find myself yelling WAY too much. For the stupidest things. I’m just finding myself frustrated all the time. I’m going to check out the orange rhino…it’s been one of my goals to stop yelling for a while now.

    • Thanks for sharing Jessica! And I know the feeling of never being a yeller when you only have 1, but then having multiple, ( 3 for us ages 8,3,1) and finding your voice raised more and more!

Leave a Reply

