A long way from home

I live in Texas. My parents live in California. I can’t tell you how much it hurts my heart and puts me into mini bouts of depression now and again to realize this fact. I usually see them once a year, and that just doesn’t cut it for me!

Last month I flew back and forth from Texas to California, back again and then again.

20130505-120649.jpg

I was lucky enough to visit my parents twice!

The first time I flew with the 2 smallest of my small and visited for a week. (See my week in review)

20130505-120947.jpg

20130505-120921.jpg

The 2nd time was a surprise for Mom and Dad! My amazing sister and her husband flew mini queen and I in for the weekend to attend a California coastal camping trip that is kind of a family tradition; one that I haven’t been able to participate in for the last 10 years! (See my week in review)

20130505-121255.jpg

It was cold, windy and only 2 days, but I’d do it again in a second to be able to see them all! My family always has a way of making you feel like you’ve never left or missed anything. Everything just picks right back up.

I think I feel the separation more and more with every milestone that my minis hit that their grandparents aren’t around to witness. Being such a big daddy’s girl, it hit me hard that this years trip to California was the first time that my Dad got to physically meet and hold Honor, over a full year after she was born!

But the moment they did meet, he was hooked! He’s in trouble with “Queen Bea” as he calls her for her middle name, Beatrice. She’s got him wrapped and knotted around her tiny little finger!

20130505-125123.jpg

Where’s your family & how often do you get to see them? Don’t ever take it for granted!

3 thoughts on “A long way from home

  1. Well, I now live in Southern California and my parents live in Charlotte, NC. But I grew up in Chicago so the rest of my family is there. My husband’s family is all in Cleveland, OH. And my best friends are scattered all over the rest of the country. It’s one of the only things I don’t like about being out west…is being so far from everyone. We get to see our parents a few times a year but now that both of our kids are over 2 and we’ll have to pay for everyone to fly…I imagine that number will go down.

    • It’s definitely hard with the expenses of flying your whole family. I hope to move close to my parents when they retire and settle down somewhere.

  2. I totally understand how hard it must be for you to be so far from your family! My dad and little brothers lived in Brazil until recently and it really stunk (except for when I got to visit them in Rio every year!).

Leave a Reply

