Mortified, party of 1!

Yup, that’s me. Mortified. Sitting alone at my table for 1 under a spot light while onlookers pass by and stare.

River threw a fit today. A massive fit. An all out screaming, leg flailing, crying fit! Right in the middle of the San Antonio museum of Art for our weekly arts and crafts play date.

I have NEVER experienced this before! Never. Even as an “experienced” mom of 3, I’ve never gone through this.

I’ve given looks of understanding and sympathy to those fellow moms in the moment. Even said a silent thank you that I wasn’t in their position.

My, how the tables have turned!

It started with River not wanting to sit for story time with the other boys and girls, which would have been fine if he sat quietly with me. Nope. All you hear as he paced the gallery was, “no, no, no!” He wanted to hurry through to the arts and crafts portion. River wants things done on his time frame and doesn’t understand why it’s not that way. So as everyone else was listening about what happened to the choo-choo train, I was putting River in a corner for a quiet time out, which was everything but quiet!

Cue in the leg flailing, the tears, the sobs and screams! In comes my brief moment of being frozen in shock and then it’s time to go. I picked him up, threw him in his stroller, gave looks of embarrassed apology and made for the car. All the while pushing the double stroller through the galleries with Rivers shrieks echoing up, down, and all around the halls.

“I want to be a calm mom. I want to be a calm mom.” I’m trying to find my patience!

Someone talk me down!

My mini monster indeed!

Things that sound good to me now that I’m a mom of 3…
😉
20130403-145505.jpg

6 thoughts on “Mortified, party of 1!

  1. Oh. I’ve SO been there. The fact that you repeated your “calm” mantra (and took him out of the situation) is great. It’s so easy to lose it when our kids lose it. But that doesn’t help anything, does it? Sounds like you are an experienced mom who knew just how to handle that tough situation!

  2. Oh. I’ve SO been there. The fact that you repeated your “calm” mantra (and took him out of the situation) is great. It’s so easy to lose it when our kids lose it. But that doesn’t help anything, does it? Sounds like you are an experienced mom who knew just how to handle that tough situation!

  3. I have actually fallen asleep at the doctors office and often daydream about being hospitalized for a week and yes, I totally agree with Colleen..

Leave a comment